Lisa Niver logo
Lisa Niver

Lisa Niver leads an experienced team that provides top tier campaign planning and resources to shape your story.

Now Available!

BRAVE-ISH book cover

Although Lisa Niver has traveled in far-off locales from Vanuatu to Nepal and received numerous accolades for both her writing and her top ranked website, what people don’t realize is that this began from the wreckage of a rotten romance.

 

Newlywed Niver was on the adventure of a lifetime. She had quit her job, rented out her condo, and was traveling around Asia. To the outside world, Niver was a woman living out her dreams of exploring ancient ruins in Cambodia and seeing orangutans in Borneo. In private, she was keeping a dark secret. But, when she found herself lying on a sidewalk in Thailand, looking up at the sky in severe pain, she knew things had to change. At age forty-seven, Niver found the courage to set course on a new life.

 

Feeling like a failure, pushing fifty, and moving home to her parents’ house to start again from scratch, Niver started taking one tiny “brave-ish” step at a time to take her life far away from the old one and into the adventurous world of travel writing. These small hurdles led to the challenge of trying fifty new things before turning fifty. From diving into shipwrecks, swimming with sharks, bobsledding at 3 Gs, to indulging in wild escapades, Niver found herself traversing the world on a journey of reinvention, personal growth, and discovering what it actually means to be “brave.”

While Brave-ish chronicles Niver’s inspiring expeditions to distant corners of the world including Myanmar, Cuba, Morocco, Kenya and Mongolia this is more than a travelogue. Niver’s story is a testament to the resilience of the human spirit and the power of perseverance. Brave-ish inspires readers to dream big, take risks, and embrace the unknown to create a life filled with wonder and excitement, even when courage seems elusive.

"Niver’s global travel exploits had me simultaneously chewing my fingernails and cheering her on as she challenged herself to greater and riskier feats in search of self. Compelling and engrossing. A must-read for fans of Wild and Eat, Pray, Love!"

Alka Joshi
A New York Times Best Seller, a Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick- The Henna Artist, The Secret Keeper of Jaipur and The Perfumist of Paris

"Lisa Niver's Brave-ish is a page-turner and inspiration for anyone who finds themselves at rock bottom in mid-life. Through both grand adventures and small, life-savoring gestures, Niver pieces herself back together after heartbreak and hardship. Readers will have the great pleasure of traveling the world through Niver's stories and will be cheering her on. Don't miss this book full of heart, adventure, and, of course, courage!"

Christie Tate
A New York Times Best Seller, a Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick- GROUP and B.F.F.

"In a youth-obsessed culture where ageism has been called the “last acceptable bias,” Niver confronts her fears of being alone, supporting herself through travel, and starting over again in midlife. Her story illustrates that we can blaze our own path, if we are brave enough to begin with small steps."

HOLLY CASSANDRA CORBETT
Author of The Lost Girls, VP Consciously Unbiased

About Lisa Niver

Lisa Niver is an award-winning travel expert who has explored 102 countries on six continents. This University of Pennsylvania graduate sailed across the seas for seven years with Princess Cruises, Royal Caribbean, and Renaissance Cruises and spent three years backpacking across Asia. Discover her articles in publications from AARP: The Magazine and AAA Explorer to WIRED and Wharton Magazine, as well as her site WeSaidGoTravel.

On her award-winning global podcast, Make Your Own Map, Niver has interviewed Deepak Chopra, Olympic medalists, and numerous bestselling authors, and as a journalist has been invited to both the Oscars and the United Nations. For her print and digital stories as well as her television segments, she has been awarded three Southern California Journalism Awards and three National Arts and Entertainment Journalism Awards and been a finalist twenty-five times.

Named a #3 travel influencer for 2024, Niver talks travel on broadcast television at KTLA TV Los Angeles, her YouTube channel with over 2 million views, and in her memoir, Brave-ish, One Breakup, Six Continents and Feeling Fearless After Fifty.

MEDIA INQUIRIES 

Literary agent: Chip MacGregor

Download Brave-ish media kit here

Media and Press

Author photo by Judith Gigliotti

More photos and information

Brave-ish is A TOP NEW RELEASE

Lisa Niver's Past Events

Lisa Niver's Book Tour

Brave-ish, One Breakup, Six Continents and Feeling Fearless After Fifty

September 14, 2023

SALONVERSATION - The Jane Club

October 21, 2023

Book Fest

September 29, 2023

Stephen Wise Temple - Los Angeles, CA

November 10, 2023

Penn Bookstore - Philly, PA

October 10, 2023

Vromans Bookstore - Pasadena, CA

November 15, 2023

DEMA Dive Show - New Orleans

October 14, 2023

Zibby's Bookshop - Santa Monica, CA

December 9, 2023

Wanderful Book Club - Global Event

October 17, 2023

AdWeek Equality Lounge - New York City

December 14, 2023

Wise Years - Los Angeles, CA

BRAVE-ISH book cover

Lisa Niver's Book Tour

Brave-ish, One Breakup, Six Continents and Feeling Fearless After Fifty

September 14, 2023

SALONVERSATION - The Jane Club

September 29, 2023

Stephen Wise Temple - Los Angeles, CA

October 10, 2023

Vromans Bookstore - Pasadena, CA

October 14, 2023

Zibby's Bookshop - Santa Monica, CA

October 17, 2023

AdWeek Equality Lounge - New York City

October 21, 2023

Book Fest

November 10, 2023

Penn Bookstore - Philly, PA

November 15, 2023

DEMA Dive Show - New Orleans

December 9, 2023

Wanderful Book Club - Global Event

December 14, 2023

Wise Years - Los Angeles, CA